Get Help

Ustream Go Live UI no longer works with 3rd party encoder.

Please report any bugs you encounter on Ustream or Ustream-Helpers.com.
Forum rules
In order to provide faster response, please give us as much detailed information about your issue, your operating system and version, Flash Player version, etc. Please include your Ustream username and a link to your broadcast. Please explain the problem in detail and the steps it takes to reproduce, and any other information that could help us resolve your issue.

Ustream Go Live UI no longer works with 3rd party encoder.

Postby LifeFellowshipChurch » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:06 pm

By the time I got registered into this forum, I think I found a work around, but would like to know what happened.
I have been broadcasting using Wirecast as my front end encoder for a year now, and have always used the "Go Live" console to start and stop Ustream broadcasts and recordings. Sometime around the beginning of March, I started getting notifications that my channel was broadcasting , when I had no knowledge. I eventually figured out that I was leaving Wirecast in a broadcast mode, and Ustream would ramdomly pick up the encoder stream and start broadcasting without UI intervention. No recording was being made, so I had to catch the live stream to figure this out. I started the policy to shut wirecast off, and the problem was solved. Now, 2 weeks ago, I found that Wirecast and the Go Live Console would not play well with each other, and would not both recognize the camera concurrently, and the UI no longer recognized when I started a FME stream.
I have just found the work-around is to "assume" that once the Wirecast FME is broadcasting, that I am live on Ustream. I must now go into the dashboard/ channel/ remote to start/stop the recording. This interface no longer allows file naming, or status updates of the Go Live UI, only chat. There is also no broadcast monitor provided. A horrible replacment for what was.

What changed along the way? I have tried my previous setup on multiple versions and PC's and am only happy to report that it isn't MY setup that has changed, but will have to now.
thanx for any feedback.
LifeFellowshipChurch
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:24 pm
Location: Kennedale, Tx

Sponsored Links

Postby Sponsored Links » Fri Aug 27, 2004 12:01 am


Sponsored Links
VP of Marketing
 
Posts: 10100
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 12:01 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: Ustream Go Live UI no longer works with 3rd party encode

Postby usrbingeek » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:22 pm

Hi,

The Live Remote Console has been moved to the Dashboard's Remote page and is no longer found in the Go Live broadcaster.

  1. Visit the "Dashboard" page on Ustream. (You can reach this page by clicking on your name at the top of any page once you have logged into Ustream.) If you have not yet set up a broadcast, do so now using the "Create a Show" link on the right side of the Dashboard.
  2. From your Dashboard, click the "Channel" link in the left menu.
  3. If you have multiple shows, select the one you wish to use, and click on the "Remote" link, again on the menu on the left side of the page.
  4. From the Dashboard's Remote page, click the button that says, "Launch Remote Console".
  5. In the remote console use the button to start and stop recordings on your channel.
  6. Use the chat tab to moderate your social stream and chat and update your status above the social stream.

More information on FMLE settings can be found at:
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=188
and
https://ustream.zendesk.com/entries/216 ... le-Encoder
All my best,
Steve / usrbingeek
Admin

Follow me on twitter
My Amazon.com Wishlist

Opinions expressed are my own.

Since your questions may also be of benefit to others please post them to the board in place of a PM.
User avatar
usrbingeek
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 10:32 pm
Location: Burlington, VT


Return to Report a problem

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests